Education Workforce Task Force

Meeting the demands of business, giving young high school and college graduates the training for the growing job market in the Coastal Bend and securing options for students to pursue multiple pathways in education are the goals of the newly formed Education Workforce Task Force created by Rep. Todd Hunter in late 2012.

The task force is charged with identifying and removing obstacles to all facets of secondary and post-secondary education and training to insure that Coastal Bend residents are qualified and ready for the next decade of job growth in the area.

“We are looking at legislative and regulatory opportunities for high school students to consider multiple pathways in continuing their education for their future careers,” said Carol Scott, task force chair. Scott is president of the Corpus Christi ISD board of trustees and a local business owner and public relations professional.

The task force has adopted legislative priorities and is working with statewide education and business groups to support the legislative options in public education to accomplish its goals.

Next up will be a series of meetings across the state to involve more communities and business organizations in the efforts.

Task force members include:
Carol A. Scott, Chair
Mike Briones, Vice Chair
Dr. Arturo Almendarez, Calallen Independent School District
Dr. Janet Cunningham, Citizens for Educational Excellence/Coastal Bend Partners for College & Career Readiness
Sharon Kollaja, Corpus Christi Chamber of Commerce / Sterling Personnel
Dr. Scott Elliff, Corpus Christi Independent School District
Debbie Lenz, Corpus Christi Independent School District
Roland Mower, Corpus Christi Regional Economic Development Corporation
Dr. Anne Matula, Craft Training Center
Bob Parker, Repcon Construction / Board of Directors Craft Training Center
Dr. Mark Escamilla, Del Mar College
Claudia Jackson DeFries, Del Mar College
Richard Pittman, Flour Bluff Independent School District
Dr. Julie Carbajal, Flour Bluff Independent School District
Dr. Paul Clore, Gregory Portland Independent School District
Dr. Sharon Doughty, Port Aransas Independent School District
Dr. Flavius Killebrew, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
Dr. Mary Sherwood, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
Dr. Steve Tallant, Texas A&M University-Kingsville
Dr. Dolores Guerrero, Texas A&M University-Kingsville
Dr. Jeff Cass, University of Houston-Victoria
Dr. Joan Holt, University of Texas Marine Science Institute
Georgia Neblett, University of Texas Marine Science Institute
Troy Mircovich, Ingleside Independent School District
Teresa Flores, Ingleside Independent School District / TASB Board of Directors
Hilda Simpson, Workforce Network, Inc
Ken Trevino, Workforce Solutions of the Coastal Bend