• December 5, 2012

Rep. Hunter Announces Education Workforce Task Force

Rep. Hunter Announces Education Workforce Task Force

Rep. Hunter Announces Education Workforce Task Force 150 150 Elect Todd Hunter

Rep. Hunter Announces Education Workforce Task Force

December 6, 2012

Rep. Hunter Announces Education Workforce Task Force

Focusing on education, skills training to meet jobs demand in Coastal Bend

CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS – Rep. Todd Hunter (R-Corpus Christi) today announced the initial membership of the new Education Workforce Task Force, focused on education and skills training to meet business and industry demands in the Coastal Bend area over the next decade. Carol Scott, president of the Corpus Christi ISD Board of Trustees and co-owner and president of Kailo Communications Studio will serve as chair; Mike Briones, interim executive director of the Corpus Christi Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, is vice chair. Other members will be added and announced.


With the prospect of thousands of primary jobs in construction, manufacturing, oil and gas and others sectors, Scott says, “Our goal is to make sure that our young graduates and adult workers have the education, training and skills needed to succeed.”


The task force is charged with identifying and removing obstacles to all facets of secondary and post-secondary education and training to ensure that the maximum number of Coastal Bend residents are qualified and ready for these jobs in the next 10 years.


“With the depth of background and experience of the task force members, I know we will make great strides in promoting education and workforce development in the South Texas region,” Rep. Hunter said.


The Education Workforce Task Force membership will include area educators and community and business leaders. The initial task force members are: Dr. Arturo Almendarez; Dr. Julie Carbajal; Dr. Jeff Cass; Dr. Paul Clore; Dr. Janet Cunningham; Claudia Jackson DeFries; Dr. Sharon Doughty; Dr. Scott Elliff; Dr. Mark Escamilla; Teresa Flores; Dr. Dolores Guerrero; Dr. Joan Holt; Dr. Flavius Killebrew; Sharon Kollaja; Debbie Lenz; Dr. Anne Matula; Troy Merchavich; Roland Mower; Georgia Neblett; Bob Parker; Richard Pittman; Dr. Mary Sherwood; Hilda Simpson; Dr. Steve Tallant; Ken Trevino; and Steve Woener.


About Rep. Todd Hunter

Todd Hunter is the state representative for Texas House District 32, in Nueces County, TX. He is the chairman of the House Calendars Committee and his sits on the House Corrections, General Investigating & Ethics, Human Services and Redistricting Committees.



Angie Flores at 361-695-2048